Celebrating the Accomplishments of Cook School of Leadership Alumni

Nation Hall

The Ph.D. and Ed.D. programs of the Cook School of Leadership have graduated many alumni who are currently serving as university presidents, deans, vice presidents, and more as leaders in higher education in the State of Texas. Most recently, Dr. Corbin Hoornbeek was appointed as the president of the University of Northwestern in Minnesota.

"It's been said many times to treat your students well because they may end up being your boss one day," said Dr. Jack Goodyear, Dean of the Cook School of Leadership. "Well, the number of graduates from our program that have gone on to become presidents or higher education administrators demonstrates the reality of that advice. Our motto for the Cook School of Leadership is 'Christian Scholars, Servant Leaders, Global Thinkers,' and to see that motto lived out in the lives of our graduates is so rewarding. We are immensely proud of our graduates who are serving in high capacities in higher education and other professions.

Below is a list of many of our DBU CSL doctoral alumni who are taking the Christ-centered learning they received on the Hill into other university halls around the state and country.

University Presidents
Tony Celelli – President, Stark College and Seminary
Corbin Hoornbeek  – President, University of Northwestern
Abe Jaquez – President, Baptist University of the Americas
Cory Hines – President, Howard Payne University
Rick Melson – President and Professor of Leadership, Southwest Baptist University
Adam Wright – President, Dallas Baptist University

Vice Presidents and University Administrators
Philip Attebery – Dean/Registrar at Baptist Missionary Association Seminary
Tempress Asagba – Dean of Students, Dallas Baptist University
Vivian Bland – Advancement Campaign Coordinator, Hardin-Simmons University
Pierre Cannings – Dean of Dallas Theological Seminary, Houston campus
David Cook – Dean of Global Studies and Pre-Professional Programs, Dallas Baptist University

LaChelle Cunningham – Director, College Access Programs, Southern Methodist University
Susan DeWoody – former Provost, Oklahoma Baptist University
John Eshun – Director, Post-Award, Dallas College
Layna Evans – Assistant Vice President for Communications, Dallas Baptist University
Blanton Feaster – Assistant Vice President for Graduate Affairs, Dallas Baptist University
Blake Flickner – Head Basketball Coach, Dallas Baptist University
Dan Gibson – Vice President for Graduate Affairs, Dallas Baptist University
Heather Hadlock – Associate Vice President Alumni Engagement, Hardin-Simmons University
MaryCatherine Harmon – Department Chair, Kinesiology, Dallas Baptist University
Mark Hale – Assistant Provost, Director of Hybrid Education, Dallas Baptist University
Jay Harley – Vice President for Student Affairs, Dallas Baptist University
Jeremy Johnston – Vice President for Enrollment, East Texas Baptist University
Tyler Knox – Director of Retention, Dallas Baptist University
Kalie Lowrie – Assistant Vice President of Alumni Relations, Howard Payne University
Nancy McGruder – Assistant Director, New Maverick Orientation & Transition Programs,
University of Texas at Arlington
Dale Meinecke – Vice President for Development, Howard Payne University
David Murphy – Dean of Behavioral and Social Sciences, Colorado Christian University
Matt Murrah – Vice President for Financial Affairs, Dallas Baptist University
John Park – Doctor of Ministry Program Director at Central Seminary, Kansas
Emily Prevost – Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness at University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Tommy Sanders – Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, East Texas Baptist University
Lisa Seeley – Director Great Commission Center at ETBU
Brandon Skaggs – Vice President for Student Life, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Dawnetta Smith – Assistant Dean of Field Education, University of Texas at Arlington
Khristy Strange – Director of Teacher Education, Department Chair, Southwestern Assemblies of God University






Written by Dr. Michael Whiting

Dr. Michael Whiting is the Director of Written Content in University Communications at Dallas Baptist University.