

Wayne Stevenson along with his wife, Buena.

2011 TOM LANDRY AWARD DINNER

honorary co-chairs Alicia Landry • Lee Roy Mitchell • Tandy Mitchell

> chair Roy Lamkin

dinner committee

Mandy Arnold Mike Arnold George Billingsley Jerry Carlisle Gary Cook Sam Dennis Jerry Durham John Ford Wes Goenawein Michael Griffin Jon Lineberger Sandy Simpson Ron Skaggs Buena Stevenson Larry Taylor Adam Wright

advisory committee

Dick Abernathy
Audie Adkins
Jay Allison
Jenny Allison
Joel Allison
Rick Ballard
Blair Blackburn
Mike Buster
Dean Castillo
Kenneth Cooper
Millie Cooper
Pete Delkus
H. John Fuller
Jim Gandy
Jerri Garrison
Wayne Hendrick

Jerry Holder
Kathryn Horner
Chris Johnson
Sam Johnson
Bill Keaton
Brian Loughmiller
Maher Maso
Ken Paxton
David Porter
David Prince
Nanci Prince
Nanci Prince
Keith Self
Mike Simpson
James Smith
Mark Valentine
Jeff Warren

5th Annual

Tom Landry Leadership Award Dinner Honors Wayne Stevenson

allas Baptist University hosted the fifth annual Tom Landry Leadership Award Dinner on Tuesday, March 22. The gala event, held at the Marriott Legacy Town Center in Plano

with over 450 in attendance, recognized the lasting legacy of one of North Texas' most famous citizens, Tom Landry, as it named Wayne Stevenson, an entrepreneur and philanthropist, the recipient of the Tom Landry Leadership Award.

This year, Alicia Landry, Lee Roy Mitchell, and Tandy Mitchell served as the honorary co-chairs of the event, and Roy Lamkin, who is currently the chair of the Baylor Health Care System Operating Board, served as the chair. During the dinner, which was held at the Marriott at Legacy Town Center in Plano, Joel Allison, president and CEO of Baylor Health Care, led the guests in the Pledge of Allegiance, which was

> followed by the National Anthem sung by the DBU Grand Chorus and under the direction of Dr. Stephen Holcomb, DBU director of choral studies and professor of music.

Dr. Tyler Cooper, CEO of Cooper Aerobics Enterprises, led the audience in the invocation, and after dinner was served, DBU President Dr. Gary Cook welcomed those in attendance and thanked them for their support of DBU and the dinner, which raises scholarship



Roy Lamkin, chair of this year's Tom Landry Leadership Award Dinner, served as the emcee for the evening. Lamkin is currently the chair of the Baylor Health Care System Operating Board.

money for DBU students from Collin County. Dr. Cook also introduced former Dallas Mayor Tom Leppert, who gave a brief word and introduced the

DBŪ video.

Speaking to the effectiveness of future generations, Leppert said, "The education we give these young people isn't going to just be great academics, but also training leaders that have not only the mind but also the heart to address the issues that will face them."

"I think that's what is so special about DBU,"

he continued, "combining great education with the understanding that we're called to something much greater through our faith."

Lee Roy and Tandy Mitchell, the founders of the Cinemark Theater chain, then introduced Wayne Stevenson, and Alicia Landry presented the award to this year's honoree.

The Tom Landry Leadership Award Dinner was inaugurated in 2007 to ensure that Landry's legacy would live on and serve as an example to DBU students and to others in Collin County.

As the coach of the acclaimed Dallas Cowboys for 29 years, Tom Landry and "America's Team" became the stuff of which legends are made. Their success came because of character and a commitment to excellence. In Landry's mind, the credit for all this success came from his faith, management

strategies, and leadership style.

Tom Landry's life epitomized the most exceptional leadership and character qualities that DBU

strives to instill in its students every day. His faith in God, devotion to family, and dedication to integrity and service to others made Landry a lasting role model even to this day.

The Landry Leadership Award is given to those individuals who use their Godgiven talents and abilities to excel in their chosen field of work, who

provide and exhibit exceptional leadership, who are committed to serving others in their community, and who demonstrate integrity in their personal lives. In addition, the proceeds raised for the dinner go to provide scholarships for Dallas Baptist University students in Collin County, and this year's dinner raised more scholarship money than ever before.

The 2011 Landry Leadership Award recipient is Mr. Wayne Stevenson. Mr. Stevenson was born in Arkansas City, Kansas, and committed his life to Christ at age sixteen in Maplewood, Louisiana.

He would stay in Louisiana to earn his Bachelor of Science in chemical engineering degree from Louisiana Polytechnic Institute. After graduating in 1957, he joined the Cities Service Company as a process engineer. That same year, he began teach-



DBU President Dr. Gary Cook welcomes the more than 450 guests in attendance to this year's Tom Landry Leadership Award Dinner held at the Marriott at Legacy Town Center in Plano, which honored Wayne Stevenson.



Dr. Tyler Cooper (center left), who provided the evening's invocation, and his wife, Angela, along with last year's Landry Leadership Award recipient and current DBU Trustee Dr. Jeff Warren (center right) and his wife, Stacy.



Longtime friends of Dallas Baptist University, John and Nita Ford. Nita is a current member of the Board of Trustees and the DBU Women's Auxiliary Board.