

SPRING 2009 VOL. XXII NO. 2

Mike Simpson Receives Tom Landry Leadership Award

Landry Award Recipient and former Mayor of Frisco, Mike Simpson (right), along with Landry Dinner Honorary Co-Chairs (from left to right) Pete Delkus, who also served as emcee, and Alicia Landry.

2009 TOM LANDRY AWARD DINNER

honorary co-chairs Alicia Landry • Pete Delkus

> *chair* Jon Lineberger

dinner committee

Mike Arnold George Billingsley Bobby Bressman Gary Cook Jerry Durham John Ford Michael Griffin Amy Jones Roy Lamkin David Porter Blair Robinson Ross Robinson Sandy Simpson Wayne Stevenson Larry Taylor Fred Villa Jon Wilson Adam Wright

advisory committee

Audie Adkins Jay Allison Jenny Allison Rick Ballard Blair Blackburn Jerry Carlisle Dean Castillo Kenneth Cooper Millie Cooper Jim Gandy Jerry Holder Chris Johnson ittee Sam Johnson John Land Chuck Martin Maher Maso Brian McCall Doug Miller Ken Paxton David Prince Nanci Prince Keith Self Ronald Skaggs Jeff Warren

Mike Simpson and his wife, Sandy

Tom Landry Leadership Award Dinner Honors Mike Simpson

allas Baptist University hosted the third annual Tom Landry Leadership Award Dinner on Monday evening, March 23. The gala evening, with nearly 500 in attendance, recognized the lasting legacy

nized the lasting legacy of one of Dallas' most famous citizens, Tom Landry, as it named Mike Simpson the recipient of the Tom Landry Leadership Award.

3rd Annual

As the coach of the acclaimed Dallas Cowboys for 29 years, Tom Landry and "America's Team" became the stuff of which legends are made. Their success came because of character and a commitment to excellence. In Landry's mind, the credit for all this success came from his faith, management strategies, and leadership style.

Tom Landry's life epitomized the most exceptional leadership and char-



Image: Instant of the second secon

acter qualities DBU strives to instill in its students every day. His faith in God, devotion to family, and dedication to integrity and service to others

make Landry a real role model.

For this reason, the Tom Landry Leadership Award Dinner was inaugurated to ensure that Landry's legacy would live on and serve as an example to DBU students and to others in Collin County. The Landry Leadership Award is given to those individuals who use their Godgiven talents and abilities to excel in their chosen field of work, who provide and exhibit exceptional leadership, who are committed to serving

others in their community, and who demonstrate integrity in their personal lives. In addition, the proceeds raised from the dinner go to provide scholarships for Dallas Baptist University students

in Collin County.

This year, Alicia Landry and Pete Delkus served as the honorary co-chairs of the event, and Dr. Jon Lineberger, associate vice president of DBU Frisco, served as this year's chair. Pete Delkus, who is the Chief Meteorologist for WFAA-TV. also was the emcee for the evening's dinner. During the

dinner, the DBU V Grand Chorus P provided a spe-

cial musical performance, and U. S. Congressman Sam Johnson, former recipient of the Landry Award, gave special greetings to those gathered. In addition, Dr. Gary Cook, DBU president, welcomed those gathered and thanked them for their support of the dinner and of DBU's work in Collin County.

The 2009 Landry Leadership Award Recipient Mike Simpson served as Mayor of Frisco from 2002 until 2008. During Simpson's tenure, Frisco voters approved a \$197.5 million bond package in 2002 and a \$198 million package in 2006. These bonds allowed the city to build a new City Hall, Library, Police Station, An active member of numerous Frisco and Collin County boards and organizations, Simpson was named Frisco's Citizen of the Year in 2004, Public Official Business Partner of

> the Year in 2005, and is a 21 Citizens for the 21st Century recipient. In 2007, the Miracle League named their baseball field the Mike Simpson Miracle League Field.

In December of 2008, Simpson was appointed to his current role as the Executive Director of the Arts of Collin County Performing Arts Hall and Park, a multi-city collaborative proj-



Wes Moore, DBU assistant professor of voice and associate dean of the College of Fine Arts, provided narration for a medley of patriotic songs performed by the DBU Grand Chorus, under the direction of Dr. Steve Holcomb, DBU professor of music.

Fire Station, Senior Center, Athletic Center, Heritage Center and Museum. During his term, over \$239 million in local roads were built or were in the process of being built. While serving as Council Member and Mayor, the U. S. Census Bureau recognized Frisco as having the fastest growing percentage of labor force in the nation from 2000-2005. In 2007, Forbes magazine also ranked the city as the seventh fastest growing city in the nation. ect of the cities of Allen, Frisco and Plano. Once complete, as CEO he will have responsibility for community relations, operation and staffing of this one-of-a-kind arts hall and arts park in the heart of Collin County.

Simpson and his wife, Sandy, have been married 46 years and are active members of First United Methodist Church of Frisco. They have three children—Becky, Mike and Keri and five grandchildren—Zac, Trevor, Sam, Mary and Cami.



Dr. Jeff Warren (left), pastor of First Baptist Church of McKinney and current DBU Trustee, provided the invocation for the evening. He is pictured with Dr. Jon Lineberger, chair of the dinner and associate vice president of DBU Frisco, and Jon's wife, Gina.



DBU friends and Frisco residents Buena and Wayne Stevenson served as major benefactors of the evening. Buena currently serves on the DBU Board of Trustees.



Wendell Wright (far left), director of student recruitment for DBU Frisco, with his wife, Kimm, Pete Delkus (center right), chief meteorologist for WFAA-TV and the dinner emcee, and Adam Wright, DBU assistant to the president for advancement.



Rep. Ken Paxton, Texas State Representative for the 70th District, which includes Collin County, led the gathering in the Pledge of Allegiance.

SUPPORTERS HELP PROVIDE SCHOLARSHIPS FOR DBU STUDENTS IN COLLIN COUNTY

LEGACY COUNCIL Wayne and Buena Stevenson

FREEDOM COUNCIL Cinemark USA, Inc. John and Nita Ford

CHAIRMAN'S BOARD J. Miles and Allison Arnold Frisco STYLE Magazine THE HEART HOSPITAL at Baylor Plano

PRESIDENT'S CABINET Larry and Audrey Adkins Jay and Jenny Allison

Mike and Mandy Arnold **Arts of Collin County Commission Baylor Health Care System Baylor Medical Center at Frisco** Mr. George Billingsley **Bob and Evelyn Collier Gary and Sheila Cook** Mrs. Trammell Crow Mr. Patrick Fallon FC Dallas **First Baptist Church of Plano** First United Bank of McKinney Frisco Economic Development Corporation **Frisco Square Development** Wes and Charlotte Goenawein

Del and Ann Harris Foundation for Christian Principles **Congressman and Mrs. Sam Johnson** Dr. and Mrs. Charles Ku **Roy and Beverley Lamkin Dennis and Gail Linam** Jon and Gina Lineberger Harold and Mary Kathryn Norris **Premier Business Group:** Logan Stout and Don Turner **Prestonwood Christian Academy Derrel and Dorothy Renfrow** Blair Robinson Mario Sinacola & Sons Excavating, Inc. **Ronald and Sondra Skaggs** Mr. Jack A. Turpin Adam and Candice Wright



Ron Skaggs, chairman emeritus of HKS, an international architecture firm, and his wife, Sondra. Mr. Skaggs currently serves as a DBU Trustee.



Joel Allison (far left), president and CEO of Baylor Health Care System, along with his wife, Diane, and Dr. Gary Cook (far right), president of Dallas Baptist University, and his wife, Sheila.